Welcome!

Msafara wa amani means journey of peace in Kiswahili. Peace is something we should all strive for in our daily endeavors. Dr. Abdul Said of American University once said that we need to replace all violent language in our vocabulary, beginning with the simplest of phrases. He said, for example, that we must always try to, instead of killing two birds with one stone, feed two birds with one hand. This beautiful saying stuck with me, and has led me to understand more fully the impact that even violent language can have on one’s mindset and actions.

As I travel, I hope to learn the intricacies of what is required to bring peace, be it mental or physical, to the people I work with. Here you will find pictures and stories of my work abroad, beginning with my time living in Cambodia.  By learning about new cultures and educating others, we can bring awareness to the global issues that affect us all, ultimately leading to a peaceful, cooperative global community.

…. just a glimpse of the beautiful spring I am leaving behind!

7 responses

  1. Ayaz

    You are very brave to go to a foreign country and make a positive impact there. I’m sure your influence will motivate others to do good as well. I look forward to reading about your experiences and stories.

    June 1, 2011 at 9:02 am

  2. Susan Fisher

    Hello
    It is so good to hear from you.
    Those images a beautiful.
    I cannot wait to hear about this new adventure
    take care
    Susan

    June 1, 2011 at 10:50 am

  3. Dorothy

    Can’t wait to hear about everything you are doing. Have a good time and good luck!

    June 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

  4. Meg Rooke

    Micaela,

    Pete and I will be following your blog and are excited to see what you discover this year. Good luck and we will keep you in our prayers!

    June 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm

  5. Lia

    Micaela, I will be following your journey very closely and will be looking forward to your return. I am so proud of you and admire your decision to do this. I have never quite seen someone who genuinely wants to make a positive impact in this world…. I wish I could have done more for you. Well, I will be here and I will be cheering for you. I hope you will find so much happiness and contentment and I hope your experience there exceeded even your greatest expectations!! I am wishing and praying for the best for you.

    L

    June 5, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  6. EMMA!

    hi micaela! the flowers are beeyotiful! 😀 im going to visit this website frequently to see how your mega amazing journey is going!

    <3, Emma

    June 21, 2011 at 10:05 pm

  7. Jake

    Micaela,

    I’m clearly a bad brother for just starting to follow all of your amazing journey now but that’s not the point. The point is that I’m finally following this and think its so cool what your doing. I’ve read a lot of the posts in an attempt to catch up and I can’t wait to read more. I hope to hear more from you soon!

    Love,
    Jake

    August 11, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

