All the News Without Fear or Favor

Why does it seem that Cambodia is so far ahead of the US when it comes to providing unbiased news? I thought this slogan for The Cambodia Daily was great.

In other news, I am slowly settling into life here- I will be able to speak on this more next week when I have moved into my apartment. Although I can say, sustaining myself thus far on rice, vegetables and seafood is not a bad existence (especially when it comes at less than $5).

We are beginning to set some goals for my scope of work, which among many things will hopefully include a few visits to the field to see how the malaria prevention programs are going on the ground. I also hope to have the opportunity to begin taking some pictures soon (it is difficult in a crowded city to feel comfortable walking around with a camera, taking pictures of people and places- I wish there was a way to be a bit more discreet!). For now, I have included a few of the office.

M

Street view of office

Inside office compound

Organization Mission Statement (in both Khmer, the language of Cambodia, and English)

My office (with personal bathroom and everything!)

3 responses

  1. tyleralvare

    Thanks for all the pictures! It really helps to be able to see the places I hear about in your messages. I hope you get the chance to take many more as you get settled in!

    June 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

  2. Alexa

    Glad to hear things are going well for you! Looking forward to reading more updates. Take care!
    – Alexa

    June 11, 2011 at 5:00 pm

  3. Ayaz

    Your office looks nice. Can’t wait to see more pics!

    June 13, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Leave a Reply

